Our History

November of 1998 a proposal was presented to the Education Committee of SD40, and in January 1999 the New Westminster School Board approved to implement a primary Montessori program commencing September 1999.

From that inception and with the hard work and dedication of volunteer parents, the society has grown to two full elementary programs at Richard McBride and Connaught Heights.

Our Role

The New Westminster Montessori Society is a registered charity committed to promoting and developing Montessori education in the New Westminster public school system. Currently, the pubic Montessori programs are offered at Richard McBride and Connaught Heights elementary schools, which are part of School District 40.

The Montessori Society is composed of the parents whose children are in Montessori preschool and elementary school in New Westminster. Through various fundraising events and donations, the society provides the materials and supplemental activities needed for all existing (and future) Montessori classrooms.

Board Members

Joanna Jackson-Farley


Vice President

Faye (Jo) Luk


Monica Ongkowidjojo


Colleen Jeffery


Members at Large

Rafael Tejada


Our next board meeting will be held on

Wednesday, April 7, 2021

Parent involvement is essential to the success of our Public Montessori Program.  Please come out and get involved to support the public Montessori Program in New Westminster. The Board Meetings for the 2020/21 school year will be held virtually on the following dates at 6:30pm. 


Wednesday, November 4, 2020

Wednesday, December 2, 2020

Wednesday, February 3, 2021

Wednesday, April 7, 2021 – AGM

Wednesday, June 2, 2021


A Word from the President of NWMS
May 2019

I am very pleased to announce the NWMS held a successful AGM in April 2019. We welcome some new members and we are seeing some members moving on. On behalf of myself and the current Board, we wish all the best to those who are stepping down and we thank you for you time , dedication and hard work in getting the Society to where it is today. We look forward to the 2019-2020 school year.
– Joanna Jackson-Farley